Osun Guber Elections : Aregbesola Rejected Akande’s Sound Counsel



Governor Rauf Aregbesola ignored sound counsel from former Governor Bisi Akande not to impose Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola as the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, immediate past secretary to the state government, SSG, Alhaji Moshood Adeoti has said.

Speaking when he received defectors from the APC into his new party, the Action Democratic Party, ADP, Adeoti who is now the flag bearer of the ADP said: “I built the structure of Osun APC, but the leadership style of Aregbesola who I trusted caused me to leave the party. (Approving) his anointed candidate, Gboyega Oyetola.

APC is synonymous with nepotism and impunity. This is caused by Aregbesola’s defiant attitude and other decision makers of the party.”
“The elders of the All Progressives Congress conceded that Osun West should produce next governor under our party, but Aregbesola insisted on Gboyega Oyetola. Chief Bisi Akande and other council leaders had reiterated that the ticket should be zoned to the West.

----- Download Omega News App -----

Aregbesola and other decision makers of the party insisted that Osun Central should produce the governor putting myself, the Speaker House of Assembly, Mr. Najeem Salam and Peter Babalola aside. The anointed candidate of APC has never been part of government until the present one that he’s part of.”
“I managed the structure of the party and was also part of Aregbesola’s cabinet for over seven and half years.”
The defectors were led by Osun West senatorial aspirant, Dotun Babayemi and were received by the chairman of the party at the ADP headquarters in Gbongan, Ayedaade Local Government Council Area of the state. Adeoti was the immediate past secretary to the state government and had left the office and resigned from the party which he helped to nurture in the state following the inclination of Governor Rauf Aregbesola to Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola. Oyetola is from Osun Central, and his emergence is against the agitation of people from Osun West who assert that their senatorial district has not had the governorship since 1993.