Osun APC Shaky As Appeal Court Sacks All Osun State Senators, Reps and House of Assembly Members


The APC in Osun state is shaky at the moment due to the recent Appeal court judgment in favour of the PDP. You would recall that the PDP is still bent on getting back the governorship seat in Osun state which they claim stole from them. Well, the court of  Appeal sitting  in Akure has sacked  all Osun Senators, House of Representatives Members, House of Assembly members who emerged winner in the election conducted by controversial Osun INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner, Amb Rufus Akeju in 2011.

Justice M. I. Sheila who read the lead judgement said Akeju was partisan, according to evidence available to the court and therefore not eligible to conduct the 2011 Elections.

The Judge ruled that AKEJU ought not to have presided over the elections in Osun State as the INEC REC.

----- Download Omega News App -----

The appeal court therefore nullified  all elections conducted by INEC in Osun State in 2011 and ordered for  fresh elections are expected into the all House of Assembly, Senatorial and Federal House of Representatives seats in Osun state.

The PDP in Osun State had contested the propriety of Akeju, a former Personal Assistant to APC National leader, Senator Bola Tinubu conducting the Osun State elections as INEC REC and secured a Court Injunction restraining Akeju from conducting the election.

The Electoral body contrary to court ruling allowed Akeju to conduct 2011 general elections as Osun State Resident Electoral Commissioner.

It would be recalled that INEC Chairman, Prof Attahiru Jega ordered Akeju to proceed on leave to allow other REC to oversee the August 9 governorship election won by Rauf Aregbesola of All Progressives Congress.

Meanwhile, Osun State PDP has hailed the judgment of the Appeal Court adding that the party will also reclaim its stolen mandate from Aregbesola.